3 Recommendations for Patio Dining in Chicago – What Will K Said

I’ve always subscribed to the belief that summer starts Memorial Day weekend, despite how “unofficially” that might be.  The workweek tends to get lighter, the weekends seem shorter, & you try to cram as much into the summer as much!  One of my favorite things to do in the summer is to be outside as much possible, so I thought I’d share some of my favorite outdoor spaces in Chicago over the next few weeks!

In my opinion the best thing about summer is eating/drinking outside,  we’ll walk up and down Madison Avenue looking for an outdoor table instead of going to one of our favorite places just to sit outside!  It’s actually kind of amazing how many places have outdoor spaces considering that we can use them for such a short amount of time, but I’m not complaining.  A few of my favorites are; Nellcote, Mon Ami Gabi, & Crossroads.

Nellcote tops my list because the food is amazing! I’ll eat here inside, outside, heck in the corner if necessary.  The outdoor space can hold close to 20 tables & is direct sun light for brunch – but has a lot of shade for dinner service.  The thing that makes this space stand out is the fact that they have a flour mill in the building, so their pastas, breads, & pizzas are extra tasty!

I love the patio at Mon Ami Gabi because it feels like you’re dining in a secret garden miles away from Chicago!  The location makes it a great choice for either pre-zoo Brunch or a romantic dinner to close out a day of exploration.  If youv’e ever been to Vegas you’ll know that Mon Ami Gabi is located directly across from the Bellagio fountains & while this location doesn’t quite have that good of a view it’s still one of my favorite spots.

My last recommendation might seem out of line with the others, it’s just a neighborhood sports bar, Crossroads… but that’s why its on the list!  This patio is where I actually spend the most time in the summer because it’s close to my house, has quick service, & Cheese Curds.  Yep, I’m including this place because of the fact that they have fried cheese, I can’t help it.. it’s so good!  If you are going to a show at the United Center is would be a great place to grab dinner & the free shuttle to the show/game/ice-capedes.

Leave a Reply

