High Intensity Workouts in Chicago – What Will K Said

If you are looking for a way to burn maximum calories in a short amount of time you’ve probably found your way to a HIIT or High Intensity Interval Training class. This style of class pairs weight or resistance based workouts with cardio to give you the highest calorie burn in the shortest time frame.

I love these classes because (in most cases) it forces me to use the treadmill, which I don’t do otherwise and the instructors make sure I’m practicing good form while doing the weight portion of the class.  I also like that I can squeeze maximum calorie burn into my workouts, I don’t have ton of time… so this makes it easy to get the most out my hour.

There are lots of options for HIIT classes in Chicago & thanks to Classpass I’ve gotten a chance to try out a lot of them! If you are interested in learning more about or signing up for ClassPass be sure to visit their website to learn more. If you use my link we’ll both get $20 dollars, me off next month & you off the first month.

Studio Three -River North
If you are looking for a fitness studio with lots of options this is a great one, throughout the day you’ll find a mix of HIIT classes that incorporate tread, rower, and free weights. The studio itself is a nice space with all the equipment you’ll need including the Water Rowers & Woodway treadmills. These instructors know how to get your heart rate up and push you to give your best.

Sweat Chicago – Clark and Division
This is my favorite place to go for a HIIT class because the instructors do the best job of motivating and correcting form, I never have to wonder if I’m doing something correctly because they have my back. The classes change their focus each day but my favorite is Tabata Tuesday. You’ll find yourself on a rower, hitting the treadmill, using dumbbells, performing kettlebell swings, & much more over the course of your workout. The space itself is great & the trainers are incredibly welcoming!

Shred 415 – Various Locations
I believe this was one of the gyms that really helped to push the popularity of HIIT style classes to where it is today, & they continue to be a great option. The class splits four 15 minute sections between the tread and floor, while on the tread you’ll be using a mixture of high speed and high incline work. I haven’t spent a ton of time at one specific location so I can’t say too much about the trainers, but overall they seem knowledgeable and outgoing.

Sproing – Old Town
This is the most different of the HIIT style workouts in that they use their own Sproing machine in place of Treads or Rowers for Cardio.  What the heck is a Sproing machine you ask?  Well it’s kind of like a treadmill… but completely different, it allows you to run in a more natural stance thanks to some straps that hold you up & a bouncy base that you run on.  You’ll also be doing weights, squats, jumps, etc in a tabata style workout to keep you heart rate up.

  • How do you add weights to your cardio or cardio to your weight based training?
  • Are you interested in any of these workouts?
Leave a Reply

