Weekend Recap 10.7.2015

Finally!  A weekend recap being written in Chicago, not that I always have to be home.. I do love traveling.. but there is also something nice about being in your own city for more than 48 hours in a week!  I will be staying somewhat local for the next two weeks, but then I head back to Texas & out to Denver for a few weeks… but that’s a few weeks away so lets focus on this weekend.

Friday I got to spend the day in the office, which was nice because I got to see some of my coworkers, after traveling for a few weeks & only seeing new people everyday it was nice to know the people around you.  Friday evening the boyfriend & I were invited to a opera recital, one of his coworkers has a family member who is starting to audition for the Lyric & other Opera positions in Chicago.  It was a new experience for me, I’ve heard opera on the radio & little bits and pieces of it in Broadway shows but to hear only Opera for an hour was new to me!  I must say that I really enjoyed it!

Saturday morning I was surprised by a delicious brunch at Mindy’s Hot Chocolate, probably the most decorated Pastry Chef in Chicago.  Every part of the meal was outstanding, from the first bite of donut, through the decadent hot chocolate, all the way to my quiche.. I think I died & went to heaven.  If you want to try out some of the hand crafted hot chocolate make sure to get a reservation, we saw many walk in groups turned away.

We spent the rest of Saturday doing our normal fall tradition.. football & cooking.  I enjoy the cooking part more than the football, but its a fun way to spend the afternoon/evening!  We’ve been working out way through the Soupbox Cookbook for awhile now & attempted the Tomato, Bacon, & Cheddar Chowder – not the best but simply “ok”.

Sunday morning I started out the day at Full Psycle, with a new instructor, & quickly devoured lunch before we starting doing some cleaning & redecorating around the house.  Finally we made our way towards dinner & a show, The Gentleman Guide to Love & Murder.

What did you do on this very fall feeling weekend in Chicago?

Leave a Reply

