Weekend Recap – 9.2.15

Hi there & welcome to this weekend’s recap.  The workday on Friday seemed never ending, by the time lunch rolled around I felt like I had been in the office for decades… I don’t’ know what the issue was, but it just dragged.. maybe it was because I was looking forward to all of the fun I was going to have that night!  We had dinner at Pizza East, part of the SoHo House Chicago property, before heading to the Chicago Spirit Brigade event.  This year for the Starry Night event CSB changed locations & provided us with a KILLER view & rooftop, I regret not taking pictures!

Saturday in the Chicago was not the summer dream we all hoped it would be, instead there was lots of on/off rain, which put a damper on lots of my plans.  I still managed to grab breakfast at a new spot, Meli Cafe, which is in Greektown & has been for quite awhile!  I also took advantage of a rainy day to get a class in at Flywheel before what was supposed to be a patio party in my building… BUT the rain cancelled that so instead the boyfriend and I watching The Kingsman.

On Sunday I had to tackle a bit of planning for my upcoming trip, so I skipped the gym this morning & instead worked on my packing list.  The idea of packing for 11 days is way overwhelming!  I can’t tell you how many links I’ve looked at from Pinterest at this point about how to pack for a cruise!  After all of that hard work I got to have some fun at Big Hot Bang, a pop-up mashup/book tour for Big Gay Ice Cream, Mindy’s Hot Chocolate, & Bang Bang Pie Company.  The event was fun & allowed us to sample delicious treats from all 3 companies present… plus I got a signed copy of the new Big Gay Ice Cream book so it’s a HUGE win all around.

This was in a lot of ways the final summer weekend for me in Chicago because I leave Friday for an Alaska Cruise/few days in Seattle & by the time I get back it could very well be Fall in Chicago, plus I’ll be hitting the road for work so I’m glad to that I got to spend a significant portion of the weekend outside.

How are you celebrating the final few weeks of summer?

Leave a Reply

