Weekend Recap 8.19.15

Wow.  I don’t know about you but I feel like I just crammed a months worth of activity into the last weekend – that’s what we start doing once we realize that summer is almost over & Chicago will be blanketed in snow before we know it!   BUT it is not winter yet, so me (& most of Chicago it seemed) took advantage of those sunny days.

Thursday afternoon I was treated to a lunch time cruise with the new Spirit Cruises thanks to my office.  I don’t know what I was expecting, but this cruise blew my expectations out of the water!  The food was delicious, drinks were flowing, & staff was very accommodating!  The boat we were on had a combination of indoor dining & outdoor lounge space which allowed us to enjoy the sun PLUS we were treated to a preview of the Chicago Air and Water Show during the practice runs.

Friday  night was spent at home with the boyfriend trying out some new recipes from one our favorite new finds.  We stumbled upon Tastebook via twitter & have loved everything that we’ve made so far!

Birchbox Shipping Container Popup Shop
Birchbox Shipping Container Popup Shop

Saturday I started the day with a trip to the #birchboxinmycity event, for those of you who don’t have a Birchbox Obsession – it was a pop up shop with BYOB(Build your own Box), curated shopping, free salon services, & celeb appearances.  I will be doing a separate post ALL about this experience soon!

After the Birchbox event I took a class with my favorite Flywheel instructor & got ready for a house warming where I got to spend time with on my favorite canine buddies.

The weekend of activities continued into Sunday as well, with a concert at Pritzker Pavilion, which has to be one of the coolest places to watch a show.. not only was Idina Menzel amazing…. but there is something about the lit up skyline in the backdrop that just makes a show that much more exciting.

And that was the end the weekend!  Like I said, I filled it to the max – but we’ve only got a few summer weekends left so we need to take advantage of them right? What are you doing to squeeze the last drops of summer fun out of the next few weeks?

Leave a Reply

