Entertainment Tuesday- Movie Picks for January 2015

It’s the first Tuesday of the month, which means it’s time for my Monthly Movie recommendations. I love movies, but sadly can’t see every one in the theaters (if I had the time for that….) Instead I’ll share with you my top two picks for the month, the two I’d skip, and finally one that left me scratching my head.

projector-422145_640

2015 is off to a pretty jampacked start,  the number of movies out this month is huge, hoping to capitalize on what will probably be a very cold month for most of us I’m sure.  While watching all of the previews for the month I immediately noticed a theme, which I’ve dubbed the American Hustle effect, after last year’s success there is a slew of crime based period pieces all hoping to continue the success of Cooper and company.  In addition to that you’ll find a slim number of children movies for the month in my opinion, anyway lets get to the point – Will K’s January 2015 Recommendations for the Cineplex

The Must See Films –

1 – Predestination – Ethan Hawke, Time Travel, the opportunity to change the future.  I’ve been dying for another Sci-Fi film lately so this makes it to number one for my viewing.  I think that it has enough of the standard elements to pull people in, but will give them a twist on the standard protocol.  Checkout the trailer here

2 – Blackhat – There is a huge chance that I’ll regret having this on my must see list, it could be horrible, actually I’d venture to say that it will be, BUT, I loved Hackers back in the early 90’s so I’ve gotta give this one a shot.  Checkout the trailer here

Bonus Must See – Selma – I personally won’t see this in the theater, as it’s the type of film that I prefer to watch at home, but one that I would highly recommend based on the trailer alone!  Checkout the trailer here

Avoid at all costs! –

1 – Preservation – This looks like it could have been a great film, if it had came out years ago.  The trailer doesn’t seem to hint at anything different in anyway, it looks to be a copy of the genre, if you enjoy that great, but when I’ve got as many options as I do at the box office this isn’t going to grab my attention enough to take a ticket from something else.  Checkout the trailer here

2 – Paddington – EEEEK. I am so creeper out just from watching the trailer that I don’t want to be in the same room with a stuffed animal for quite awhile.  I will never understand the appeal of this one, Paddington is just scary looking.  If you’re a parent and want to have your children afraid of teddy bears for some reason, this might just do it! Checkout the trailer here

You’ve got my attention –

Spare Parts – I’m not typically a huge George Lopez fan, but this movie looks promising.  I work at a technology school so anytime I see competition such as these in the mainstream it grabs my attention.  This film doesn’t look to be groundbreaking by any means, will probably be similar to Dangerous Minds & The Freedom Writers Club, but it looks like a great story!  Checkout the trailer here

What movies are you planning to see this month?

W

Leave a Reply

