New Years Resolutions – Week 1 – Enjoying Life

It’s officially that time of year, when we are all thinking of ways to make ourselves better, have more money, and generally attempt to get it together. The problem is that after the first few weeks we start think about how much easy life was before the gym membership (believe me I’m still paying for last year’s sign up), how much more delicious dinners out are, and the list goes on and on.

I’m not going to tell you that I have some big secret, BUT I do have some simple ideas that you could introduce that just MIGHT help make a difference in your life. Over the next three Thursdays I’ll be sharing some of my tips about eating better, exercising, and saving some of that hard earned cash. This week though we’re going to focus on something that seem so simple, enjoying life.

The idea of enjoying life is one that seems deceptively simple, I mean how hard can it be to live in the moment, count your blessings, and reflect in a positive way? Yea I was shaking my head by the time I finished that sentence myself, we as humans are not wired in such a way that enjoying life comes natural.

Let’s put it this way, there are a few things that we do naturally that fight the idea of enjoyment, without us even knowing it usually! The constant voice in our head is comparing us to those people around us, we’re always wondering what the next big exciting thing is, and it seems we’ve become obsessed with documenting the moment rather than living it. Like I said before I don’t have all the answers, but I think tackling those 3 things can make a difference.

Will K’s 3 tips to Enjoy the New Year

1 – Stop comparing yourself to others – again… something that seems SOOO simple, but I’m here to tell you it is not. This happens when we’re at the gym (which we’ll talk about next week), it happens when we’re shopping, at work, driving to and from, and the list goes on and on. It’s like we need to steal the idea of blinders from the horse trainers. The way that I attempt to manifest this in my life is by changing the person I’m comparing myself too, instead of my friends or strangers I look at myself. Am I better off today than I was a year ago in whatever area happens to have my interest at the time? If not, I use the reflection time to figure out how to change things for the better.

2 – Yes something newer, smaller (or bigger), and probably unnecessary is going to come along. I would say out of all three of the ideas I mentioned this is the one I struggle with the most, the second I decide to purchase something I begin thinking about the next model. If I go to the movies I get stuck deciding which movie to watch, what if the other one is better!? The best way that I’ve learned to deal with this is simply to set a course and stick with it, don’t go off on the what if conversation, sure the iPhone Mega edition might be announced next week, BUT are you happy with your phone? Do you really need all those features? (The answer is almost always no).

3- Stop taking all those pictures – this one is simple. Put down your camera, take a deep breath, and look around. I promise that you’ll enjoy the moment so much more now than when you’re looking at photos on your couch in a month, also think about how many photos you’ve taken in the last month… when have you actually sat down and looked at them? You can have a great time without making sure that everyone on Facebook knows it.

So that’s it, three simple tips to help you enjoy the New Year a bit more. How do you deal with the things I posted about? Don’t forget next Thursday we’ll be talking about staying motivated when it comes to fitness.

Leave a Reply

